Skip to content

News Centre


West Suffolk's 'inspirational' women celebrated.

On Sunday 2 December Jo Churchill, Member of Parliament for Bury St Edmunds, and Sheila Childerhouse, Chair of West Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust, co-hosted an event to celebrate 100 Years of Suffrage and the NHS’s 70 birthday.

Inspirational women from across West Suffolk were invited to enjoy afternoon tea in The Athenaeum and to celebrate their achievements. The event brought together inspirational community leaders, volunteers, fundraisers and hardworking and dedicated staff from West Suffolk Hospital.

Jo Churchill said: “I was delighted to co-host this wonderful event in Bury St Edmunds to celebrate the achievements of unsung women from across West Suffolk, who were all nominated by others for the incredible work they do.

"It was really enjoyable to listen to the achievements of inspirational community leaders, volunteers and NHS staff and to thank them in person for all the important work that they do.

"Events like this serve to celebrate work that often goes unrecognised as well as encouraging wider community involvement. We have come a long way over the past 100 years, but there is still more to be done.

"I would like to thank everyone who attended the event and made it such a special occasion. I would also like to thank Gina Long MBE and Jan Bloomfield for all their hard work in helping to make the afternoon such a success.”

Sheila Childerhouse said: “In the year that the NHS turned 70 and women secured the right to vote 100 years ago, it was a pleasure to co-host an event to celebrate the hard work and determination of many inspirational women from across the west of Suffolk. Your efforts do not go unrecognised and we thank you each for the roles you play in supporting the varied aspects of our local community. We can all make a small difference in our community that can make a big impact on the lives of those around us.”

Back to Newsroom

Local MP Jo Churchill and Trust chair Sheila Childerhouse

Local MP Jo Churchill and Trust chair Sheila Childerhouse